Aims and Topic

Plasma physics plays a central role in many natural and man-made systems, from the vicinity of black holes to fusion experiments. This area of research is in fast development thanks to the strong interplay between experimental, theoretical, and numerical approaches. Long-standing challenges such as magnetic reconnection, turbulence, shocks, dynamo processes, or particle acceleration can now be tackled directly by a combination of these techniques. The goal of this school is to gather students and researchers from various communities (astrophysics, applied mathematics, fluid dynamics, fusion research) to provide a unified framework of plasma dynamics and to exchange new theoretical and experimental developments between these communities. This school is in the continuation of several plasma physics schools held in 2011 ("Dynamics and Turbulent Transport in Plasmas and Conducting Fluids"), 2013 ("The Future of Plasma Astrophysics"), and 2015 ("Turbulence, Magnetic Fields, and Self- Organization in Laboratory and Astrophysical Plasmas").

Registration will be open in November 2016.

Session dates

Monday May 1st evening to Friday May 12 2017

Confirmed Invited lecturers

  • Olga Alexandrova (Observatoire de Paris Meudon)
  • Stanislas Boldyrev (University of Wisconsin - Madison)
  • David Burgess (Queen Mary university of London)
  • Troy Carter (University of California Los Angeles)
  • Benoit Cerutti (Institut de Planetologie et d'Astrophysique de Grenoble)
  • Jean-Fran├žois Donati (IRAP, Toulouse)
  • Emmanuel d'Humieres (Université de Bordeaux)
  • Thierry Dudok de Wit (Université d'Orléans)
  • Cary Forest (University of Wisconsin - Madison)
  • Xavier Garbet (CEA Cadarache))
  • Frank Jenko (University of California Los Angeles)
  • Pascale Hennequin (LPP, Paris)
  • Matthew Kunz (Princeton University)
  • Nuno Loureiro (MIT)
  • Milan Maksimovic (LESIA, Observatoire de Paris)
  • Andrea Mignone (University of Torino)
  • Henri-Claude Nataf (Institut des sciences de la terre - Grenoble)
  • Alessandro Retiono (LPP, Paris)
  • Fran├žois Rincon (IRAP, Toulouse)
  • Alexander Schekochihin (Oxford University)
  • Hartmut Zohm (Max Planck Institue - Garching)

Indicative Calendar

  • November 2016: Registration opens
  • mid-December 2016: preliminary program
  • 28 February 2017: Contribution submission closes (oral &)
  • March 2017: Notification of selected contributions
  • 18 April 2017: registration closes
  • 2 May 2017: School begins


22/04/17: Final program and abstract books are available in the "program" section of the site.

6/04/17: The registration fee has been reduced to 400€ for participants. A few places are still available. Registration will close on April 18.

29/03/17: School shuttle available from GVA airport. Don't forget to register in the practical information section.

Sponsored by